Ajit Agarkar: The New Chairman Of Selectors Of The Indian Men’s Cricket Team

The position of the chairman of selectors of the Indian Men’s cricket team was vacant since Chetan stepped down in February. However, the position has now been filled by the former Indian cricketer Ajit Agarkar. Chetan stepped down from the position after an Indian television network had conducted a sting operation on him.

Members of the selectors’ panel

The selectors’ panel consists of five members. These five members are Shiv Sunder Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee, S Sharath, and Ajit Agarkar. Agarkar is the fifth and senior member of the panel. Hence, according to the rules of BCCI, Agarkar is the new chairman of the panel.

With the formation of the selectors’ panel, the members have already been assigned to the selection of players for the T20I matches against West Indies. There will be five matches against West Indies from August 3. The panel has already started their selection process for the same.

image source:https://th-i.thgim.com/public/incoming/jua6j5/article67044614.ece/alternates/FREE_1200/20230704231L.jpg

Ajit Agarkar has had a fair career in cricket with 26 Test matches and 191 ODIs. Sources say that Agarkar was the undisputed choice of the Cricket Advisory Committee. 

BCCI posted the advertisement for the interviews with June 30 as the deadline for application. However, there are no specific numbers of the applicants. While some sources suggest that Ajit Agarkar was the sole applicant for the role, some suggest that there were two applicants among which Agarkar was finalized for the position.

Previously, Agarkar was the selector for Mumbai from 2017 to 2019. However, the job was on a smaller scale. This time Agarkar will be playing the same role but on a very large scale. 

Apart from being the selector for Mumbai, Agarkar was also on the coaching staff of Delhi Capitals for 2021 and 2022. However, Agarkar was not playing any role in the cricket world this year. Hence, he was chosen for the role of selector.